The Weather's Effect on My Mood

Dedicated to all the people who have SAD

gloomy weather

When I wake up in the morning the first thing I do is look to the upper left of our bedroom where we have a big, unadorned window. There, in an instant, I can automatically see what the weather is and it makes a HUGE difference to me. If it is dark gray (with or without a howling wind, cold or not cold), I just want to stay in bed and not crawl out from under the deliciously warm and soft, flowered blankets. If I have to go out I will force myself but it will be with much grumbling and I don’t feel happy. When the sky is bright and a robin’s blue and sunny, I automatically smile. I prefer warm weather but even if it is cold out and the sun is winking at me I can bundle up and go out. I can handle that better than dark, depressing skies. My mood is definitely influenced by the weather and I could NEVER live in a climate where it is dark, gray, cool and drizzling most months out of the year. I would be miserable and admire people who can do that and live happily. I would not be able to; kudos to those of you who can.

Powered by Plinky

5 thoughts on “The Weather's Effect on My Mood

  1. My brother lived in Iceland for three years while in the Navy. It is dark for long periods of time there…Iceland used to have the highest percentage of alcoholics by population. I don’t know if that is still true, but what else can you do day after day??? Drink or have babies.

    Like

  2. sorry I haven’t been around much lately.
    things have been a bit crazy here.

    I too am affected by the weather, not just my moods, but my health! If the pressure changes the Meniere’s loves to shout…I’m here and going to get make your life miserable.

    So yes, warm weather, with mostly constant weather patterns. that’s for me!

    Hope you see blue skies much more often than not.
    w

    Like

      • I guess after reading my post you probably have guessed what’s been going on. Plus, there was a post I wrote that didn’t get published…it’s coming out right after midnight…at least it better…probably going to sound a bit weird after the last post.

        and having my pregnant friend and her husband staying with us is nice, but still a bit disruptive to my normal life.

        Plus Stuart is working full time again now…I think I way too used to him being at my beck and call….NO I DID NOT SAY THAT! hahaha
        It’s just been some getting used to, not having him around as much…even though he’s just in his office. : )
        You know I’d really miss my husband if he had to leave the house every day to go to work, he used to do that, but I’ve gotten so used to him being here, it would be hard now.

        funny, I always thought I’d get sick of someone if I were around them this much, but we do our own thing. Sometimes I don’t see him the whole time he’s working…but knowing he’s there, and I can walk in and kiss and leave..that’s nice.
        Can’t believe we’ve been married for 7 1/2 years….still feels like we’re newly weds…and I swear all the horrors we’ve been through the past few years have only brought us closer….thanks in large part to our therapist, helping us to voice things better to one another.

        oh…a long comment. I must be catching up!
        hugs
        w

        Like

Leave a Reply

