Eating For This And That

English: Individually wrapped slices of Americ...

English: Individually wrapped slices of American cheese. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In addition to eating for enjoyment, I’ve realized food choices reflect my mood. When I am nervous I can eat rapidly, going from one food to the other at an alarming rate: sweet, salty, sweet, salty, crunchy, soft, sweet, salty. When I am worried (I’m in that stage now) food has very little appeal to me and I need to force myself to eat.

I remember when my dad was in the hospital for quadruple by-pass heart surgery my mother complained to him that “your daughter has not eaten in three days.” Like he needed to hear that! But, I do remember having to force myself to take a bite of my age-old comfort food, bread, butter and Kraft’s American Cheese (individually wrapped.) My only beverage of choice was a Yoo-Hoo. To this day, if I can’t eat, which admittedly is rare, I will rely on the same things or scrambled eggs with a lightly toasted English muffin with butter and grape jelly (not jam) to put something in my stomach.

Comfort food. The things we had in our childhood that made us feel better. I had a friend whose comfort food was a hamburger. I found it strange but to her it was comforting, that is what her mother made her when she didn’t feel well. It was her version of my American cheese sandwich. What are some of your comfort foods? I’d love to hear about them and why. No judgment here. Love,food and comfort, they unite us all.

4 thoughts on “Eating For This And That

  1. Like T, my main comfort food is mashed potatoes…but I want the real thing. However, if I’m in a bind I will eat them from a box…but then I need cheese on top.

    Cheese is also a comfort food. Especially Mac and Cheese…again like T. I love homemade, with lots of cheddar cheese. But the Deluxe GF Mac and Cheese from Annie’s is pretty darn good.

    A flat grilled cheese sandwich…it’s a Southern thing I think. It’s called a Flat Iron Grilled Cheese. you make it in a pan, and smoosh it flat while cooking. Then cut it criss crossed, so you have 4 triangles, just like mom used to make me. Oh and it has to have mayo on it, cooked in butter. Stuart thinks it’s gross I like mayo on my grilled cheese, but he also thinks it’s weird I like it flat.

    I think it depends on what kind of comfort I need. When I don’t feel good, I want the grilled cheese, when I’m depressed I want mashed potatoes….and Mac and Cheese..well I can eat that any time.

    Like

  2. Sad to say, but most of my comfort foods are now off limits due to food sensitivities. However, you will just have to eat some for me! The bestest of all? Mac’n’cheese. The cheese sauce is the most essential ingredient, and would start with a jar of Ragu cheddar pasta sauce. Into that would go additional shredded cheese – cheddar/jack, or sometime Italian blend, and a bit of extra milk, a bit of seasoned salt. I can replace the pasta with gluten free, and have tried replacing the cheese with differing substitutes, but it’s just not the same.
    I was *always* a cheese nut, English cheddars, Colby, smoked Provolone, Gouda… my how I miss them!
    Gimme a nice loaf of crunchy whole grain bread & a chunk of cheese & I was a happy camper!
    Now I guess it’s chocolate & these yummy chocolate-mint marshmallows. Not supposed to eat either, really, too much sugar, but…
    I do still really love gluten free muffins & we’ve been experimenting with baking them from scratch without a recipie. My comfort food there is weird… I will break them into bite sized bits into coconut milk, warm it up, maybe add a touch of honey… my mom grew up poor on a farm in West Texas & they had bread & milk a lot, so I grew up with it.
    Great topic!
    ~Ash

    Like

  3. My comfort food is mashed potatoes…from a box…the fake flakes! With lotsa butter and salt…to help my cholesterol no doubt…lol. Also homemade macaroni and cheese with the big elbow mac and cheez whiz and milk…soupy mac n cheese to be precise. But I have to say those American cheese slices can also comfort me when turned into a gooey cheese toasty dipped in hot Campbells Tomato Soup!!! Wow…now I’m hungry!!! lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

