The Golden Globes Are On But More Importantly I Hated My Dinner

Signs for the Golden Globe Awards.

Signs for the Golden Globe Awards. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

LIVE FROM SUNDAY NIGHT GOLDEN GLOBES:

Sunday nights have always been legendary in my house and even in the apartment where I grew up; we HAD to like our dinner, it was imperative. It was that unwelcome bridge from the weekend to school or work or just Monday. It seems that even if you don’t work, Monday is still bad, that never changes. Maybe they should just call it Sunday Plus, would that work to ease us into the new week? Oh, fine, probably not but I’m trying here people, just work with me.

I feel that I need to have The Golden Globes on for “My Peeps” those of you who follow my blog, those that love celebrities or television and gossip. Those of us who watch The Golden Globes to see the witty banter between Tina Fey and Amy Poehler (so worth it.) These two women are just hilarious and besides someone might trip up the stairs or make a delicious, outrageous speech. Wouldn’t want to miss anything out of the ordinary (aka live bloopers, mistakes, a temper tantrum, please, the audience loves the stuff!)

OMG, President Bill Clinton just walked out on the stage, gave a speech and got a standing ovation and I am so NOT making this up. This man lives for the spotlight and the spotlight just adores him. What a magical moment. Then, a young whippersnapper in a pretty orange dress won instead of Meryl Streep and she actually went on stage and SAID, actually SAID OUT LOUD something to the effect of (and I’m paraphrasing: Whose name is on this, NOT Meryl Streep’s  name.) No, she couldn’t have. Could she? That girl needs some manners, pronto. Forgive me for prejudging but I don’t like this kid. There was a lovely salute to Sally Fields by Ann Hathaway and Jodie Foster was wonderful in her heartfelt speech accepting her Cecil B.DeMilleAward; a woman with class. However, we don’t care if you are gay, we knew you were gay, we just want to know if you will continue to make movies? That and how could Mel Gibson be your BFF? I mean, EWW.

Sorry, I was so distracted by as (he was called )Mr. Hillary Rodham Clinton (ha ha ha) back to the dinner. Everyone who knows me and those read my blog faithfully know I also love food and yes, I do have some strange food combinations.( I am NOT going to mention them tonight because my friend Maureen sent me Hostess orange cupcakes and I owe her big time) Tonight’s dinner was a massive mistake. Hubby and I shared a lovely pear and mesclun salad that came with goat cheese, walnuts, slices of pear and raisins and a few walnuts. It came with balsamic vinegar on the side and it was light, healthy and it was wonderful. Now for the bad news: hubby ordered mussels fra diablo and his forehand was sweating but happy; I ordered (ok, ok) spinach lasagna with a white sauce. I’ll leave you a minute to digest the thought….It sounded good, I’ve had that before but unfortunately, it was one gloppy mess of spinach and even more gloppy cheese with oil. Horrible looking and tasting. It was bad enough that I could have sent it back but I didn’t. I just conceded that Danny won (I’m not a good sore loser) finished my Diet Coke and we went home. Home to fried, carmelized bananas and one slice, okay, two thick slices of Dan’s blueberry cinnamon-poppy seed loaf with a hint of butter. How could I not like my Sunday dinner now?

One thought on “The Golden Globes Are On But More Importantly I Hated My Dinner

Leave a Reply

