Plinky Prompt: A call from an unexpected person. Who is it, and what is the conversation about?

  • Frosted Flakes

    Frosted Flakes (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

    You receive a call from an unexpected person. Who is it, and what is the conversation about? Go! See all answers

  • The Phone Rings………
  • Hi,
    I’m sure you don’t remember me but my name is Steven and we met in an airplane many years ago flying from Boston to New York. We dated a for a while and even though our chemistry and apparently quick friendship was amazing, I was a complete jerk. I remember I had an office trip for a month after (which I’m sure you thought you would never hear from me again) but I was utterly taken with you. Maybe smitten is a better word.  I sent you postcards, several postcards if I remember. We had a quick and easy banter and a similar sense of humor, and I remember how quick you were with answers, nobody had ever come back as quickly as you and I was enthralled by your wit and by your open smile and dancing green eyes. I can still picture them. It was a tough combination for me to ignore and I knew I couldn’t do it.

    Apparently, over your vacation at home, you had just gone through an extremely difficult situation with your family. A devastating one. You never told me what happened, you couldn’t at the time, you were bleeding still and raw and I was impatient. I forgot you were young and that my track record was really not good, that was my fault, entirely. I totally messed everything up.

    I would call you to say I would be there at your house at 8pm and I would not show up until 12 midnight, this happened more than once. You should have slammed the door in my face, I DID deserve it, I almost wish you had. You probably felt the same way. I remember you told me what your best friend said about me, it hurt but it was true: “There are NO MORE excuses, not even if his family was decimated in a fire, there is always time for a ten second call.” She was right, you were right. T

    I was a selfish, rich, overachiever who thought he had to prove himself in this world. But, that’s what I loved so much about you. Remember when you said your most favorite time with me was when we ate Frosted Flakes in my living room? That was YOU in a sentence. Your grin, your sparkling green eyes, the way you threw your head back, laughing. You didn’t care if I had a BMW or any kind or car, or the prestigious job I had. All you cared about was me, the real me. You saw the unguarded moment that no one else had ever picked up on, except for you. Eating Frosted Flakes in the living room, me trying to explain football to you!! ( Sorry, I couldn’t help that one)

    I’m here now to say, I deeply regret how I treated you. I saw on Facebook that you are married with two beautiful grown-up children, and of course, a dog. I’m glad and somehow I knew you would keep your last name! I am still single but I am in the beginning of making amends. I knew I had to start with you. Even though it was just a short time, thank you for being in my life.

  • special thanks to Frosted Flakes
4 thoughts on “Plinky Prompt: A call from an unexpected person. Who is it, and what is the conversation about?

  1. Is this a true story?
    So many times we regret what we’ve lost, because of our own problems mostly.
    But I wonder how many of those relationships would have worked anyway? Or it the fates…or whatever….was telling us that it just wasn’t right?

    I liked the Frosted Flakes.
    Thank you for coming by my blog.
    I would like to read more of yours, but I have such a hard time recently with the migraines.
    Thank you for understanding, and I hope you are feeling better.
    wendy

    Like

    • Of course I understand about the migraines. My god, what kind of friend wouldn’t. We’re all in this together, hon. I’ll let you guess if it’s true or not. what do you think and then I’ll tell you! why can’t anyone come up with some relief for your migraines, you need to get help. it’s not fair!!! I love you visiting WHENEVER you CAN.

      Warm wishes, Laurie https://hibernationnow.wordpress.com

      >________________________________

      Like

Leave a Reply

