M is for Mom (Kelle Elmore, Free Write Friday)

Mother and Infant Bond

Mother and Infant Bond (Photo credit: Steve Corey, O.O.T.)

I was six weeks premature and the first words out of my mother’s mouth were “she looks like a plucked chicken.” Not the kind of bonding experience you want to brag about but while she held an important role in our lives I wouldn’t call her the “nurturer.” In a different time, in a different place I have no doubt my mother would have been a CEO of some Fortune 500 firm. But, in the 50’s that just wasn’t done. She had my sister first and five years later she had me. Being premature meant I had to stay in the hospital for four weeks or so and the touching stories really came from my dad, who visited me, on his way home from work. He was the one who stopped by the hospital every single night, knocked on the glass, to see his baby girl.  My mom was home with my older sister, about six blocks away, it wasn’t like it is now, what could she do? She couldn’t touch me or feed me, “there was nothing she could do.”

My mother, to this day, shares too much, has no boundaries and is sometimes incredibly blunt, she has no filter. At her age, we don’t expect her to change. I held a lot of resentment towards my mother when I was younger because she wasn’t the “motherly” type whatever that means. I know she would rather have had a career, she used to call my sister and me her two schnauzers, now her two ducklings. I’m not sure when the name changed or why but I think my sister was the one who promoted us.

At parent-teacher meetings in grade school she would walk with her European flare and sense of style that made me want to crawl into the nearest locker while my friends, their parents and my teachers just cooed and complimented her charm. Me? I wanted her to be like Julie’s mom, wearing an apron and baking cookies for me to share with my friends after school. So not my mom.

But all that matters really, is that she would do anything, ANYTHING for my sister and me. That she loves us completely and would save our lives before her own. She would gladly give up her life without thinking to help my sister, me or our families. She didn’t bake cookies or bake bread, she hated to cook, she never knit or sewed ( guess where I got that from?) and she didn’t want me to go to Girl Scouts because she would have to be a Troop Leader one day. I became more like her than I thought. However, I do bake a mean banana bread with chocolate chips and raisins and nurturing really is MY thing.

Was she a bad mom? ABSOLUTELY NOT. She was an independent thinker and taught both her daughters to be the same way. Funny enough both my sister and I kept our last  names and while there is not that much money in the accounts, she taught us early on to keep an account of our own, something I have already passed on to my teenage daughter. My mother is a great mom, not a mushy mom for sure, but she loves us just as much if not more than any quilting bee/Suzy Homemaker mom. She was just ahead of her time. I needed to grow up and once I did I’m delighted and proud to call her MY mom. I love her to pieces just the way she is.

19 thoughts on “M is for Mom (Kelle Elmore, Free Write Friday)

  1. Schnauzer, duckling – LOVE it – it sounds endearing. Your piece was stupenderific – what a beautiful tribute to You and your Mom.
    BRAVO Laurie for both the writing, realizations and revelations.

    Like

Leave a Reply

