Plinky Prompt: What do you display on the walls of your home?

  • What do you display on the walls of your home — photos, posters, artwork, nothing? How do you choose what to display? What mood are you trying to create? See all answers
    • Wall to Wall
    • We have a lot of artwork (believe me, nothing valuable) in the living room, some framed prints, one small oil painting that I fell in love with and walked into the gallery and bought it immediately. It wasn’t cheap but every time I look at the piece of art work, I love it anew. It was worth every penny I spent on it and that was fourteen years ago. I love it and smile at it each time I see it, there is no price tag on joy.
      Our bedroom has nothing on the walls except a small framed print that my father bought me many years ago in Vienna. Its message is to look for optimism through the dark times, a dark bridge opening into sunlight. There’s a photograph of my husband and myself when we got engaged that is informal that we keep here too, young love. We have been married almost 25 years now. We have art work in most other rooms, framed photographs in the bathroom, office and a new framed print in the kitchen. Photos of our kids (now young adults) and one special photo of them from when they were babies that I allow myself to keep. Also, one of our dog (as well as a photo of our first dog.)
      I think it speaks family, warmth, home, love, beauty, travel and nature.

    • Previous Answer

 

 

4 thoughts on “Plinky Prompt: What do you display on the walls of your home?

  1. Above my couch I have framed black and white photos that my son Bill took when he was in high school. He had them framed for me for my birthday. I don’t think I could ever take them down.

    Like

  2. I used to have original works of art – by myself or others. In the last several years I’ve taken them all down and put these up:
    Bathroom- picture of an arrow above toilet that say’s “go”
    Bedroom – picture of an arrow above bed that says’ “sleep”
    Kitchen- picture of a skull and cross-bones on refrigerator that says “Enter at your own risk”
    Each room of house – picture of a question mark that says “Stop! think! Now why did you enter this room? Read the sign if unclear.”

    It might be time to redecorate . . . again . . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

