Zemanta, Images And Ghetty Ghosts

Dear CEO of Zemanta Support,

(oh sure it works now)    HA HA HA IT DIDN'T WORK!!!!!!!!!!

I am one second away from having a serious nervous breakdown. I mean it. Feel free to call my psychiatrist, she’s wonderful. It has been at least two, if not three, weeks that I have contacted support@zemanta to help me find my missing images that I try to post on my blog hibernationnow.wordpress.com to accompany my blog.

Do you know how many emails and request for help I have sent? Exactly. Too many times to count. Yes, one person made an effort and I’m sure he did it with his heart in the right place but then he disappeared for quite a while. Days after, I wrote again and another woman tried to help. That was it.

I’m done. Maybe by writing this they will pay attention? I know, not likely. Is it time to move my blog to another address where they use another system because right now I am very flexible.

Does anyone know if other blog sites come with a BETTER or working program of images than the one that wordpress has now. They changed from Zemanta which was working fine without ANY notice to something called Getty images. I have nothing against Getty images, they seem delightful. I’m just wondering what I need to do to make them APPEAR ON MY BLOG?

Anyone else have this problem? Can someone help me? I would really appreciate it. It would bring me blood pressure down, I’m sure.  The only tag words I need are Zemanta Support.

What else can I do before the inevitable breakdown. Help me please.

I’m begging.

So, Mr. or Ms. CEO of Zemanta Support, can you please get in touch with me NOW?

TIA.

6 thoughts on “Zemanta, Images And Ghetty Ghosts

  1. Hey Laurie,

    once again, big thank you for your patience and sorry for not replying sooner (different time zone unfortunately). I have (hopefully) fixed all the images on your blog and also I have sent you & Daniel an email explaining what were the issues found in the blog posts. Please let me know if I have missed any post and do let me know what are your thoughts on those suggestions given in the email.

    Take care and have a very lovely day,
    Petra Prusnik

    Like

  2. Hey Laurie!

    First of all — I’m sincerely, honestly sorry that this has erupted to the point, where you are so upset by our service. If anything, our product is designed so that it should help our users, not upset them!

    The thing is, our widget is recommending two different sources for our image recommendations: one is from Wikimedia, the other one is from Getty Images. All of them are copyright cleared and free to use by our users, and although the end results should be the same for all users (image displayed properly in your blog post), this clearly isn’t the case on your blog. At least in some cases.

    The difference between those two sources is that when you insert images from Wikimedia into your blog post, when editing it, it displays normally, in your editor, so that you can see how it looks before you hit the ‘Publish’ button.

    But it’s not the same with Getty Images, since they have their own way of how their images are displayed. Basically, we can only insert their images as links in our users editor window, thus disabling them to see the image in its whole, when composing their posts — but that particular link transforms from a link into an image as soon as the blog post is published (or previewed).

    If you look at one of your previously published posts, you can see that this is the case, like in the examples listed below:

    https://hibernationnow.wordpress.com/2014/07/30/dear-body/
    https://hibernationnow.wordpress.com/2014/08/07/haters-gonna-hate-myself/
    https://hibernationnow.wordpress.com/2014/08/04/for-just-a-night/

    But in this blog post (and in some of your previous ones), a problem occurs, where that link does not transform into the image, when the blog post is published.

    Why is this happening? We don’t know. And since you are the only user that’s experiencing these kind of problems, we suspect this might be an edge case, where something very peculiar & unusual is preventing from those images to properly load up. But nonetheless — we are (as mentioned in all of our previous responses) more than ready to help you out!

    But in order to do so, we are also going to need your cooperation, since we cannot just make this magically disappear. If possible, we would appreciate a video call, where we could take a closer look at what’s going on in your editor when those links are inserted or a temporary editor pass, where we could test it ourselves.

    Again — please accept my sincerest apologies for all the trouble we’ve caused so far, but I cannot stress enough how eager we are to help you out on this. Please do contact me back on my private email address with which way of resolving this issue do you prefer and / or if you have any other questions, since I’ll do my best to help you out!

    Here’s my email address: silvo[at]zemanta[dot]com

    Take care & I’m looking forward to your reply! Have a nice & relaxing weekend!

    Best,
    Silvo

    Like

Leave a Reply

