Convos With An Addict, A Food Addict

Shhhh.  Quiet. My fantasy is about to come true.

I’m lifting the triangular tip of my slice of pizza right up near my mouth, slowly. It’s always the anticipation that makes it so exciting. The savory smell of the tomato sauce and oregano, garlic,starts wafting in the air, that smell that draws you in, the one you’ve longed for. You breathe in the luxurious scent with one long breath, you moan with happiness and then, finally, you pick it up and feel the rough, grainy texture in your hands that you stroke with pleasure.

I lift up the heavily anticipated slice (or 2 or 3) of pizza, blow on it gently, I want warm pizza not too hot to burn me, a little spicy, adding extra garlic salt and I open my lips and taste that first amazing bite.

This is only the first slice of pizza of the two or more I will eat tonight, my husband and I have looked forward to this night for days. We only use one pizzeria in town even though there many other options. But, this one, is our favorite and we have tried every one of four or five places, sampling each, several times.

In the past we ordered a slice of Sicilian pizza and a regular slice for each of us of us but I’m not sure which direction we will go tonight. We’ve taken chances on the Sicilian slices before, sometimes it’s a bit too doughy and the ratio is wrong.

I know what you are thinking there is no such thing as too doughy yet when it comes to Sicilian pizza there needs to be a balance and sometimes from this place, the balance has been off. It depends on our mood, we are never disappointed with their regular slices, plain or mushroom, I have a feeling I know what we will do.

I lick my lips in anticipation. They also serve (sorry if this is a bummer for pizza enthusiasts) the most amazing salad, (stick with me here) with kinds of lettuce, craisins, goat cheese and slices of avocado .Believe me I am not a salad lover but this seems like it should be outlawed it is SO good. It comes with some sort of silky raspberry dressing and we are not counting calories here.

This was yesterday’s dinner, I would happily eat the same thing today. This is one of my favorite (and most comforting) meals. It speaks to me of my youth and happiness, and Dani’s House of Pizza and André the Pizza maker and of course, the owner, Dani. It was a tradition when we were old enough to walk from school and go there for lunch. For one dollar we got two slices, a drink (grape, no ice) and had leftover money for candy.
Just thinking about it makes me nostalgic and very, very hungry. Maybe I will have the same meal again, Saturday.and toast to the old times when we were young and life was easy and uncomplicated.

 

2 thoughts on “Convos With An Addict, A Food Addict

  1. Oh Wendy, sweet girl, Our anniversary is october 2nd, (26 years) and our choice was to spend money we don’t have on this stuffy, good restaurant or pizza!! guess which I picked? PIZZA, two slices each of mushroom pizza and their heavenly salad with all kinds of fattening stuff in it like avocado, goat cheese, raisins, craisins. I’m drooling………Nothing wrong with pizza hut though that started my grape jelly addition. Oh jeez, now we will hear from our darling MO!!!!!

    Like

  2. hearing you describe that first slice sounds like eating meditation. very mindful. It made me salivate. I have found a pizzeria here I do love. it makes wonderful gluten free pizza, and I can get one made with the most unusual things for this unusual girl, who can’t eat so many things….and it is still a wonderful pizza. Yes, a delicious pizza. (a white pizza with grilled chicken, mushrooms, and spinach…oh that was so decadent) But it is expensive. and the calories are a plenty. So it is only for special occasions. We had it on our anniversary. That was special. (for a girl who grew up in a town who only had Pizza Hut, I’ve come a long way. LOL)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

