It’s Not Saturday If Keith Is Not Rambling

Day 530 / 365 - Saying Goodbye

Day 530 / 365 – Saying Goodbye (Photo credit: xJason.Rogersx)

I’m checking my computer every few hours. Where is he? Doesn’t Keith know that I focus my weekends around his Ramblings? I feel out of sync, “Carry on Tuesday” is very much on my mind. Where is my prompt? Keith has usually posted it by now. I feel uneasy and I am checking the site way too many times. Yes, I know I have visited this site six times before….forgive a girl. We look forward to these prompts, they shape our small, little lives. We get panicked when you are not around.

I have an uneasy feeling and Saturday isn’t even over but Keith is usually so reliable. It’s true I wait for his prompts, his prompts put structure and peace in a life that has so many variants.  Maybe he’s on vacation, I think but no, Keith isn’t like that, he would tell us in advance. Perhaps I missed an announcement? Unlikely since I am a devoted fan but I cannot ruminate on this and it is late so I lie down and go to sleep, reminding myself to check tomorrow.

It’s Sunday late morning and I do check once more. There is a note from Keith, a note and a last prompt saying “It’s Time To Say Good-bye.” ‘Oh no, I groan, not again’. Yes, again and for good.  Sigh, darn you Keith, what about those of us your devoted fans? We will miss you and you know me, who will help me with my (non) technical skills? I don’t like this, I don’t like this at all. Keith, we’re your people, won’t you consider a mini-club, a “private club” where you don’t have to do so much work, give a word or a photo and let us think there is some sort of continuity, some sort of family frame. Oh fine, I know you won’t, it’s done. Over. Bye-bye.

I’ve never been any good at good-byes. Those who know my blog are already nodding their heads.  I don’t like endings of any sort and I don’t like this. But, as one ages you realize you can’t fight other people’s decisions, they have their own choices to make so one must try to be gracious and wish them well. Keith, thank you for all your hard work, for helping me FEEL like a writer, for joining us all into one simple, sweet group. Of course, tears are in my eyes, would it be me without them?  I say good-bye to you, Keith. I will truly miss you. Laurie F.

I wonder why when you say goodbye...

I wonder why when you say goodbye… (Photo credit: Mirjee ….)

6 thoughts on “It’s Not Saturday If Keith Is Not Rambling

  1. Wow, you almost had me welling up too. It’s nice to know that COT was appreciated so much – I have to say I had no idea how much it was loved. But life goes on, and I’ll now be spending more time on my blog and I’ll be visiting yours – that I promise. Keith

    Like

  2. Losing a friend on line is like losing a friend in person. But as you say, we all have our choices to make, and I’m sure he has a good reason for making his. I hope you can find something that helps to fill the void.

    (sorry I’m not around much, I read post from my email, but I’m way behind on that too. I’ve been overwhelmed by my illnesses, and when I have a decent day I try to do something (like take a bath) and often don’t make it to the computer. I hope you are as well as you can be.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

